Zampa tried to run-out batter at non-striker’s end in R Ashwin’s style.
During the encounter between Melbourne Renegades & Melbourne Stars in Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Australian spinner attempted to run Renegades’s batter Tom Rogers out at non-striker’s end in the penultimate over but eventually the batter was adjudged not-out by the on-field umpire.
Actually what happened is that Zampa’s arm went past vertical as he knocked off the stumps. According to the rule, a non-striker batter cannot be dismissed if bowler completes his bowling action before knocking off the stumps. Zampa’s way of dismissing the batter became a huge subject of debate on social media.
Sharing his views on Fox Cricket, former Australian wicketkeeper-batter Brad Haddin opined that “Must’ve warned him. I reckon Zampa was dirty from the ball before when Rogers got in and out and got Harvey on strike. Didn’t think we were gonna see it (attempted in the BBL), to be honest.”