Nowadays, Umpiring errors have come so common that we get to witness them in almost every series or tournament.
One more umpiring error was encountered during the last Super 4 match of Asia Cup 2022 between Pakistan & Sri Lanka. On the second delivery of 16th over, Hasan Ali bowled to Pathum Nissanka and the ball went into wicket-keeper Rizwan’s hand who thought that ball had edged the bat and appealed to the umpire.
Umpire remained firmed on his decision and gave it not out. After that Rizwan took a review which umpire instantly accepted and sent it to the third umpire. Afterwards, camera moved at Babar Azam who was shocked to see that Umpire approved Rizwan’s review even if captain is he himself not Rizwan.
Here’s the video
Talking about the Game, Sri Lanka comfortably beat Pakistan by 5 wickets with 18 balls to spare while chasing 122 runs. Barring Babar Azam and Mohammad Nawaz, no other batter crossed the mark of 25 runs and surrendered themselves to Wanindu Hasaranga who took 3 wickets in his 4 overs spell and was adjudged player of the match later for his fine spell.