BCCI announced India’s squad for Asia Cup

Asia Cup is all set to start from 27th August. Team India will begin their tournament journey by facing Pakistan on 28th August. From past few days, there were many debates and discussions going on regarding the right team combination for Asia Cup, finally BCCI have put full stop on all the speculations going around.

On Monday, BCCI announced the squad for Asia Cup. Former Indian captain Virat Kohli is making his comeback in national team after more than a month. He played his last game against England and missed both T20 & ODI series against West Indies. Opener KL Rahul who underwent surgery and missed series against England, South Africa & West Indies will also be seen in action.

Deepak Hooda who made a fine impression in series against Ireland by scoring an outstanding century also got a spot in the squad. Moreover, Punjab bowler Arshdeep Singh who performed magnificently in recent series got reward for his performance as he has been given an opportunity in the squad.

Off-spinner R Ashwin who was impressive in recent series against Windies has also been included in the squad. Leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi alongside R Ashwin and and Yuzi Chahal are the three right-arm spinners in the squad and Ravindra Jadeja & Hardik Pandya are the two all-rounders for the tournament. In the absence of Jasprit Bumrah who ruled out from the tournament due to back injury, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead the pace attack.

India’s squad for Asia Cup:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul(VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Y Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Backup players – Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *