Indian star spinner Ravichandran Ashwin comes up with his interesting opinion on the rule change of LBW on his youtube channel after the Edgbaston Test.
The Indian player wants batters to be declared LBW while attempting the reverse sweep or switch hit even if the ball has pitched outside the leg stump. Ashwin gave this suggestion in a video, posted on his youtube channel.
As per the current rule, the batter can’t be declared LBW if the ball has pitched outside leg as it’s considered as the ‘Blind Spot’.
Ashwin said that whether a player can reverse sweep or not, it’s not his concern. His point is on LBW, if the batsman changes hands how he can’t be declared LBW?
He suggested letting the batters play reverse sweep or switch hit but giving bowlers the provision of pitching outside leg and getting LBW. If umpires give out on that, some parity can be retained between bat and ball.
Ashwin drew a reference from the recently concluded Edgbaston Test between India and England when India faced a 7-wicket defeat. Joe Root and Jonny Bairstow smashed a century each and pulled their team over the victory line
Ashwin said that in that inning almost 10 times Root tried to play reverse sweep and turned completely in which he missed 9 times and was able to connect his under edge on the last time while Bairstow went padding the ball.
Ashwin pointed the view of the blind spot and told when a batter is standing in his original position and the ball is pitched outside the leg stump, then only that becomes a blind spot but when a batter is turning and changing hands, it doesn’t remain the blind spot.
Ashwin ended this topic by saying that if he is a left-handed bowler and bowling from over the stumps it’s outside leg stump pitching when Root is playing with his original stance but when he’s turning completely it doesn’t remain as a blind spot but it’s a front on. So that should be given as out.